The ScienceMedia Network
From scientists for scientists! - Now at your service.

Coimbra Solar Physics Meeting 2015

Ground-based Solar Observations in the Space Instrumentation Era

CID: cspm2015
Twitter: #cid_cspm2015

Website hosted by: Catherine Fischer
Affiliation: Kiepenheuer Insitute for Solar physics

Organizing institutions:

Main category: Natural Sciences (Astronomy)

Conference/Workshop objectives:

Full-disk spectroheliograms have been routinely taken in Coimbra since 1926 in the Ca II K-line (K1 and K3) and in 1990 regular observations in the Hα line have also started. In 2006, the Astronomical Observatory of the University of Coimbra (Coimbra, Portugal) – Observatório Astronómico da Universidade de Coimbra (OAUC) organized an international solar physics meeting (the first Coimbra Solar Physics Meeting 2006) jointly with a historical session commemorating the life and work of Prof. Francisco Costa Lobo (1864-1945) who installed the spectroheliograph in Coimbra in the 1920s. On June 22, 2013, UNESCO added the University of Coimbra one of the oldest European universities founded in 1290, to its World Heritage List.
Now, we invite again a wide scientific community to join us in 2015, this time for discussing the state-of-art of solar ground-based and space-based observing techniques and related topics. This meeting is included in the celebration of the 150 years of Geophysical Institute of the University of Coimbra. It will take place in the University campus just inside the Coimbra historical down-town and will also include an excursion to the Coimbra Observatory which is located at the city periphery.
The Sun and its activity affect the entire heliosphere, including the Earth. Solar activity includes flares, coronal mass ejections (CMEs), eruptive prominences and filaments, outbursts at various spatial scales, sunspots, and plages. All these phenomena are driven by the magnetic field. Although these phenomena appear at time scales from seconds to months, the long-term variation of the magnetic field during the 11-year solar cycle modulates their frequency and space weather impact. Coronal phenomena are driven by the dynamo-generated fields that show large-scale organization.
Solar magnetic fields can be investigated from ground and space. Ground based observations of solar magnetic fields using polarimetry has a long history, contributing to the understanding of long-term behaviour of the Sun. Spectropolarimetric observations in FUV and EUV lines can only be made from space; they represent virgin territory and they are urgently needed for exploring the magnetic activity of the upper chromosphere and transition region.
This CSPM-2015 scientific meeting will cover various aspects of solar dynamic and magnetic phenomena which are observed over the entire electromagnetic spectrum: white-light, Hα, Ca II, and radio from ground and in a variety of other wavelengths (white light, UV and EUV, and X-rays) from space. Emphasis will also be placed on instrumentation, observing techniques, and solar image processing techniques, as well as theory and modelling through detailed radiative transfer in increasingly realistic MHD models. The long-term (cyclic) evolution of solar magnetism and its consequence for the solar atmosphere, eruptive phenomena, solar irradiation variations, and space weather, will be in focus. Here, special attention will be devoted to the long-term observations made in Coimbra and also to the results of the SPRING / SOLARNET and SCOSTEP VarSITI studies. In particular, the weak solar activity during the current solar maximum will be discussed. Finally, since this meeting is organised around the 90th anniversary of performing the first spectroheliographic observations in Coimbra, a session will be specially dedicated to new solar instruments (both ground-based and space-borne) that will give access to unexplored solar atmospheric features and dynamic phenomena over the coming years.

Coimbra (Portugal)
Date: 04.10.2015 - 08.10.2015

Conference poster: Download poster here.

Local organizing committee:

T. Barata (OGAUC/CITEUC, Coimbra, Portugal)
S. Carvalho (OGAUC/CITEUC, Coimbra, Portugal)
I. Dorotovič (OGAUC/CITEUC, Coimbra; UNINOVA-CA3, Caparica, Portugal; SCO, Hurbanovo, Slovakia)
T. Esperança (OGAUC, Coimbra, Portugal)
J. Fernandes (OGAUC/CITEUC, Coimbra, Portugal) - Chair
A. Garcia (OGAUC, Coimbra, Portugal)
D. Maia (CICGE, University of Porto, Portugal)
A. Morozova (OGAUC/CITEUC, Coimbra, Portugal)
D. Passos (CENTRA - Instituto Superior Técnico, Univ. de Lisboa, Portugal; GRPS, Univ. Montreal, Canada)